passed step 3

7/28/2016 4:09:16 PM
hey guys, the nightmare is finally over. step 3 is a tough exam. please take it very seriously. i studied for 1.5 months only and scored 230. not a great score but decent enough (i am just happy to finish USMLE). Few tips for the beginners :
1. u world is the key. do it at least twice.
2. MTB + conrad fisher's ccs + kaplan ethics . that's all you need. please do not read elaborate books. there is no time, besides step 3 tests your background knowledge and common sense. If you prepared well for step 1 and 2, this should be easy.
3. Uworld ccs is the best. I did not use archer's notes. Do not miss the read outs. Make flowcharts or algorithms to guide your thought process. Also do practice the 6 ccs cases on fred v2 software. The 8 min cases are the hardest. They test your approach and presence of mind. Do not panic if the cases don't end. some cases are designed that way.
4. Finally take both the mock tests nbme and uwsa. The real exam is no where close to any of the mock tests however uwsa is a good predictor of your score.
5. Gap between two exams should not exceed 1 week. You kinda lose the drive to study after the first exam.

set a time limit. donot exceed 3 months of preparation. 6 months is unnecessary and a waste of time. Good luck to you all. learn to relax because its your presence of mind that is being tested. do not lose your cool.
edited by on 7/28/2016

7/29/2016 11:19:45 AM
Thank you!!! and Congratulations!

8/8/2016 3:39:04 PM
thank you
congrats

9/15/2016 9:02:18 AM