Got my result today and thrilled!

3/23/2016 10:57:59 AM
Hi everyone, I am an IMG from the PH and I just want to share my experience on step 1 to inspire my fellow IMG takers. I took mine last March 2, and just got my result a while ago. I graduated last April 2014 and finished my internship April 2015. Here is my preparation:

Materials: FA 2015 + Uworld only
Study Time: Approximately 4 months (November - February)

November: First fast read of FA (around 10 days),
then i took my NBME 15: 213,
then 2nd detailed reading of FA (until end of month)

December-February: Uworld I only do 1 block a day, and seriously annotate my FA (for e.g. 1 question about Aortic Stenosis, I annotate the page on Valvular diseases and differentiate AS on other valve dse) very tedious, and i do that for every question that is why i can only finish 1 block a day.

Mid January: took my NBME 16: 241, i was halfway with my Uworld, was lagging behind due to holidays.

February: I finished Uworld + Annotation on Feb 15 i guess.
then took UWSA 1: 247

Remaining Days: I Reread all my FA + all annotations I made, unfortunately i wasn't able to read all the topic it was too long! maybe 3-4 chapters left.

3 days before actual: NBME 17: 256
1 day before i tried to do free 150, but halfway through, i was super tired & fell asleep (please don't do this, do your free 150 earlier! i swear!)

Final Result: 256, i was so thrilled & a bit emotional after all the hard work, it paid off. My advice is that only focus on FA and Uworld! and you'll be fine!

NBME 17 was the best predictor for me.

Thank you Uworld and to this forum, which i always read for me to be motivated. If I can do it, i know you can! God bless everyone! If you have any question feel free to msg me here!
edited by on 3/23/2016
edited by on 3/23/2016

3/23/2016 2:14:06 PM
Congratulations!!! Thanks for your advices and sharing your experience. That was in a record time.

3/24/2016 11:48:00 PM