Passed NCLEX - Not the best UWorlder

9/11/2020 11:36:25 PM
Hi everyone. I wanted to share my accomplishment with everyone and give some hope where people feel it might be slipping, or are not feeling like they're good enough...

I graduated from an accelerated nursing program in 14 months with a 3.92 gpa... Good student, set my priorities, studied, trusted my gut. Not the smartest, but I put in the work... sometimes...

I ranked in the 34th percentile on UWorld. I would barely score 30-40% on ~40 question tests. Slowly over time this increased to 40-50%, but I remained in a very low percentile. One day I'd do 23 questions, the next I'd do 45. Never set a schedule, just did questions when I felt like it. 5a can't sleep? I'd do 5 questions... 10p should have gone to bed? Did 20 questions... I finished about 800 questions in roughly 2 weeks and listened to roughly 7 out of the 12 Mark Klimek lectures and read the study guide that coincided with it. I never took the prep tests.

On the morning of the test, ate some eggs and toast, drove 45 minutes to the testing facility, and approached the day as just any other.

The NCLEX is a bit of a mutation. It's so different from any tests you take in school. It's vaguely specific, random, and in my opinion silly sometimes. I'll have a pharm question I've never heard of, then, "When the nurse assesses the RUQ, what organ are they assessing?"... It's very bizarre and random. The most important part though, is you getting in the way of yourself. During school I would never look at what question I was on, and take everything one at a time. Stay present, in the moment. I always thought this helped with anxiety. I did the same on the NCLEX, so I don't know exactly what question I passed, but I had to use the bathroom (anxiety pee!) so bad, I looked and and I was on question 84. It was shortly after that I passed.