Failed CK need advice on how to pass plz

6/10/2013 4:01:19 PM
Hi everyone,

I studied for CK, I re-listened to Goljin, read the kaplan books from cover to cover at least twice, watched the Kaplan Videos. Did the USMLE qbanks twice, along with NBME assessment and U world assessment both of which I passed. I was scored 80% on U world a few weeks before the exam, mixed and timed qbanks. I am not sure how, but I still failed, I was shocked and completely devastated & confused. I have passed USMLE step 1 and CS thankfully. I submitting a request to get my score rechecked but we all know that is not something to wait on. I want to apply for Residency for 2014 and I want to re-take the exam this summer.

Can someone please advise me on what I can do? The passing is 196 and I got a 189. I looked into prep courses but I really cannot afford it because I pay for everything myself. Thank you ahead of time

6/10/2013 6:54:19 PM
Sorry to hear that. Did you take an NBME before you took the real exam and if so which ones and what did you get on them?

6/10/2013 7:22:48 PM
AnIm11613807 wrote:
Sorry to hear that. Did you take an NBME before you took the real exam and if so which ones and what did you get on them?

Hi, yes i did I believe it was NBME 3? and I passed it. I am very confused about the result but what can you do. Do you have any suggestions?

6/10/2013 9:13:54 PM
For Step 2 CK, I used the following materials:

1. MTB Step2CK, know and understand all of it.
2. MTB Step 3 as a supplement for peds and some ob/gyn because MTB Step 2CK is not enough
3. Uworld explanation
4. Kaplan Surgery, just the first few chapters
5. Kaplan videos only if a particular concept was difficult to understand.
6. Know CT/MRI images of the the brain, chest, abdomen and pelvis. Not in detail, just the basics.