NCLEX VS Kaplan VS Saunders

6/16/2017 7:42:06 AM
I wanted to share a post in here because like so many of you reading this I too was on the fence about paying for uworld. So let me start off my saying.. yes, I literally used all of the above quiz banks. I used Saunders and the Mastery App throughout nursing school, I was forced to use Kaplan by my program, and I choose use lipincott because it was free for me. Between school and studying for boards I had exhausted all questions on all the sources. Here is what I think about each one.

Kaplan- our school pretty much forced us to use it since we paid for it in our tuition. We would do about 1-2 of the secured exams based off of each semester (fundamentals, med surg, diagnostics..). During school I by no means was "studying for boards", I was just trying to get through the program. It wasn't until the last few weeks of my last semester until I graduated I really started utilizing Kaplan. Kaplan has a ton of videos, mini exams, prep tests, and pre-made subject question banks. I literally did all (I really mean all) of the questions and tests in there besides trainer 6, 7, and the readiness. Kaplan took away my confidence, didn't help me understand why or why not something was right. The rationales were horrible and unstructured. I feel like at some point (probably though a delusion from studying too much) there was a question the pretty much said the answer is right because it's right and that's it. My QBank was struggling at and overall of 57%. I did above the benchmarks for all the trainers and secure predictors, but I feel like it didn't prep me.

Saunders- this comprehensive book and online QBank was hands down amazing! It helps me really have a good grasp on content. I used this throughout my last year of nursing school and used the questions to study for each of my exams. The rationales where much better than Kaplan, but it just want enough for me. I wouldn't use this as a solo prep guide for NCLEX.