Best way to prepare for Step 1 as a IMG.

1/15/2014 8:58:08 PM
Hello, everyone! I graduated from medschool in 2013 and started residency in my country, but my relatives live in US and I've decided to quit the residency and start the long process of getting licensed in US and getting a residency spot there. So, I'm just starting to repeat everything and I was wondering if you guys have any advice on which books, qbanks and really anything helpful for me to get through. I have the new first aid book and just ordered kaplan lecture notes. Thanks so much for the help

1/16/2014 6:13:09 PM
Marthha wrote:
Hello, everyone! I graduated from medschool in 2013 and started residency in my country, but my relatives live in US and I've decided to quit the residency and start the long process of getting licensed in US and getting a residency spot there. So, I'm just starting to repeat everything and I was wondering if you guys have any advice on which books, qbanks and really anything helpful for me to get through. I have the new first aid book and just ordered kaplan lecture notes. Thanks so much for the help

dear martha,
it might seem like a long road, but , hang on, u can do this. i recently finished my step 1 exam. few tips:
1. form a schedule first,take a sample uworld general test, mayb three / four blocks of uworld step 1 questions, asess ur strong and weak areas, and plan accordingly
2. ve a fixed time schedule.. didn really work out for me, but i believe it would ve made the study more effective
3. CHoose ur resources carefully. choose few, and do them over and over and over again. If ur okay/ strong in ur basics
REVISION IS KEY
FA IS BIBLE
UW IS THE BIBLE WORKBOOK

jus do it.keep doin the questions regularly. atleast one block a day, with timimg. ALL THE BEST!

1/16/2014 9:19:49 PM
Marthha wrote: