My Step 1 Experience

6/11/2013 8:28:03 PM
I am an Old IMG graduated 10 years ago. Currently, about to earn my Ph.D. in the US. I came to US to pursue a research career which I hav been very passionate about, however, my wife persuaded me to not to give up on my medical career. Given the current research funding scenario, I started thinking about USMLE and convinced myself to become a physician-scientist. Took me 3 years to self-motivate to confront this beast.

Let me confess upfront, I HATE studying.

With this brief background, let's move on to my Step 1 experience. I started studying for Step 1 from May 2012. Read Kaplan notes (no videos). Finished first reading in October 2012. Now thats a very long time I took to read those books, partly because I was busy with my research project and I did not study consistently as well. Very hard for me to study for more than 5 hrs a day. Reading through Kaplan notes after such a long time off from medicine books was very boring and tiring for me that I did not touch those books again ever. And then one of my friends suggested to subscribe for UWORLD in Oct 2012. I must thank UWORLD for making this journey so enjoyable that I went through each and every block very slowly and carefully over next 5 months. Thanks to UWORLD for rejuvenating the physician mind which has already been within me!

I did UWORLD in timed, unused, random mode from the beginning. Initially started off with around 55% in each block and improved to 70% at the end. One thing I did which helped me immensely at the end was I annotated my First Aid heavily while going through UWORLD. While annotating, I read of the First Aid once. After one pass of UWORLD took UWSA 1 and got 234. I was flying in the sky. At this point I had one month left for my real deal. Then due to an important school assignment, I could not study at all for about 3 weeks and had to postpone my exam date by one month.